How I Knew I Wanted To Be A Teacher

When I was growing up, I never thought I would be a teacher. I remember wanting to be a veterinarian, an astronaut, and a doctor, but never a teacher.

Maybe it was because of my personal experience with teachers. Or maybe it was my lack of interest in academics (mostly because I didn’t understand them).

But, I think I was always destined to be a teacher. I remember pushing my coffee table against the wall and sitting my stuffed animals around it to mimic the illusion of a classroom. Then, after I gave directions or a mini-lesson, I would ask if anyone had any questions and go on and on explaining. I’d walk around helping my stuffies, making sure they understood whatever they were learning. I’d even put stamps or stickers on their papers, to congratulate them on a job well done.

But the idea of me actually teaching as a career was not something that came to me until I was in nursing school, working at a gym, in the kidcare center. Up until this point, I was sure the medical field was for me and that I wanted to work with children. I was told to put on a movie and make sure the kids didn’t get hurt. But their boredness and reluctance to stay there drove me to create activities and help them with homework. Eventually, kids were running up to me and asking their parents to stay more time. I was thrilled and motivated!

Soon, I quit nursing school and pursued a dream I didn’t even know was mine. I had finally found my calling and I haven’t looked back since!

5 thoughts on “How I Knew I Wanted To Be A Teacher

  1. This is such an amazing excerpt from your life! I enjoyed your slice and learning something new about you! Again, the teaching world is lucky to have you!

  2. I am thankful that you found your calling, because now I get to work with you! I’m sure some of those skills you learned in nursing school will come in handy here and there in the classroom, too.

  3. Yay! I’m glad you’re one of us. =) I think there is a real kinship between teachers and nurses. Both professions draw 1) mostly women and 2) people who like to help people.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *